Why doesn't Apple go private

Turn private browsing on or off on your iPhone or iPod touch

When you use Private Browsing, you can visit websites in Safari without generating a search history.

"Private browsing" protects private data and prevents some websites from tracking your search behavior. Safari doesn't save the web pages you visit, search history, or autofill information.

Activate "private surfing"

  1. Open Safari on the iPhone or iPod touch.
  2. Tap the New Page button
  3. Tap Private, then tap Done.

While Private Browsing is enabled, Safari is displayed in black or dark instead of white or gray.

Deactivate "private surfing"

  1. Open Safari on the iPhone or iPod touch.
  2. Tap the New Page button.
  3. Tap Private, then tap Done.
Release date: